The reason why an archaeological museum was established in Oristano in 1938 lies in Oristano’s moral heritage from Tharros. Oristano, which became the seat of the Archbishop and the Judge of Arborea in 1070, welcomed the refugees from Tharros. From then on, the people of Oristano transported spolia—marble, columns, capitals, and square-cut blocks—from their mother city, Tharros, to construct the cathedral, churches, monasteries, palaces, and the fortified city walls. Oristano thus amassed the most significant collections of artifacts from Tharros: part of these were acquired by the museum in Cagliari, while another part remained in Oristano. There, a young lawyer from Sèneghe (OR), Efisio Pischedda (1850–1930), began to create the largest private collection of antiquities in Sardinia. The Pischedda collection became a reference point for both national and international archaeology; after his death in 1930, the Municipality of Oristano purchased his remarkable collection, now housed in the elegant Palazzo Parpaglia.